The truth about wedding planners

20131218-120738.jpg

I am often asked, why do you support other wedding planners aren’t they competition? And the answer is, actually no. Believe it or not I find other wedding planners and creative designers to be inspiring. Especially the ones that stand out from the rest. There is one planner that I had the pleasure of meeting a little while ago and to be honest I was terrified! I was scared she would be upset with me for trying to make a name for myself in the vintage rentals aspect of the wedding industry. But truth be told, she was the sweetest person I could have met. Wedding creatives all have something different to offer, everyone is unique and can be of value in one way or another and it’s important to work together building each other up instead of tearing each other down. Yes you could say we are all in competition but we are not all trying to have the same brides hire us. Each couple will click with different planners and some won’t click at all.

I was fortunate to go to school at the WPIC, where many other planners are either just starting their careers or going back for new material because this industry is always changing. I can’t tell you how amazing it was to see all of the people working together to learn this really fun and beautiful career we have all chosen to be apart of. I am also fortunate enough to attend fun parties held by the WPIC members and get to know everyone personally. We have alumni boards where planners can hire assistants for weddings and where we can all find valuable information and guidance from really awesome people.

There are many seriously talented pros who I can’t wait to meet one day, I can pick their brains and be inspired by what they have to offer. If people remain so tied up with the negative or trying to one up each other, our own businesses would crumble because now we are focused on someone else instead of our own self growth. Of course there are many occasions where I go shoot I wish I thought of that or man that’s really good I wish I had that talent, but that’s why if we all worked together to build each other up, couples who have hired us will not only have the most amazing wedding experience of their lives but they will know that the person they’ve chosen to plan their special day wanted to create that experience for them, and not just build a portfolio.

You can often tell who’s in the industry for the wrong reasons. The ones who are mean and selfish and does not play well with other vendors that are similar to their own business. The ones who take time to teach young pups like myself or offer internships and the ones who so desperately want to create magic for you, those are the ones you gotta keep an eye out for because those are the ones you want planning the most important day of your lives!

I am so inspired today and feeling full of gratitude for all the lovely friends I have met and am about to meet. To any other wedding creatives, take the time to personally get to know someone who is in direct “competition” with you, and you will be greatly surprised that you are probably wrong about them. Don’t let your ego for being the best get in the way of creating amazing relationships! You won’t be disappointed. Xo

Have an inspiring day friends!

20131218-120855.jpg

2 thoughts on “The truth about wedding planners

  1. Pingback: THE TRUTH ABOUT WEDDING PLANNERS | crazyforus

Leave a comment