The Shift

20140117-170036.jpg

Happy Friday Everyone!

This year I’ve gotta say, has gotten off to a really good start with a few minor details that God has put on my path just to remind me to still hustle and remain positive through it all. “Something has changed within me, something is not the same” quoting Wicked of course.. But something has completely switched guys, I don’t know how and I really don’t care all I know is my heart is so full of gratitude and a new respect for the life I’ve been given. No longer do I wake up in the mornings with a bad attitude just because, and my so to often self complaints have changed into positive affirmation no matter how much that “I’m so ugly” statement tries to weasel it’s way out of my mouth. My New Years goal and statement for the year is C’est La Vie, and my word this year for life is foudroyant (adj) meaning dazzling, stunning in effect. This year I will dazzle inside and out even if I’m the only one who can see it. For so many years as most of you who know me, know that I change my hair colour from brunette to blonde to both and back and forth throughout the year… I never felt at peace with how I looked on the outside but never changed a damn thing about my self on the inside which made it hard for me to appreciate the outside no matter what my hair colour was or how tanned my skin looked.

This year is all about not giving a hoot about anyone else’s opinion of what hair colour looks best on me and if I’ve gained a few pounds. I have found peace in what God has given me and I have to appreciate it because some people are not fortunate to have the things I so often complained about. I’m taking every negative situation and finding light from it. I’m not gonna lie, sometimes it’s hard to snap out of a funk especially when you are trying really hard but saying how grateful I am for even just one thing during the day has completely changed me.

This year may not have started with a fully booked wedding schedule and I have to be okay with that. I could do what most wedding planners start out doing but I’m not okay with that. I have yet to read worth every penny but it is on my list of things to do this year, I know I can charge whatever I want to even as a “newbie” because I can deliver and make it worth every penny. I have lost 3 potential weddings that I know of.. two were sent my way but never gave me a chance and one who had emailed me last year under the Keighli Events name emailed me again under my new business name just looking for a price. Even though last time I did not get a thank you but no thank you, I still emailed away fully knowing it wasn’t about me and what I do it was about price. And I’m okay with that, because it comes with the job. I also didn’t give in to someone who has been in my life for a long time now, not allowing myself to do it just because I don’t want to lose them as a client or a friend. I said I’m sorry but I actually don’t do that but if you check out my website I have many packages that you can choose from. To my surprise instead of saying well that really sucks, I received wow I’m so proud of you, so professional already! It felt good to stand my ground even if I lost out on something.

This year I have spent more time devoted to organization and making lists and plans. Making sure at least once a week I blog, and keep up to date with social media. One thing I do need to remember is my work hours that I have set… And to take breaks. I gotta say, it’s super hard to remember that your body needs fuel and sleep in order to keep going, especially when you’re knee deep in a Fairytale wedding that you stay up until 430am designing and working out the details for. I am reminded by the bride to go to bed, it can wait. It’s just the love that I have for this job that all these ideas keep popping into my head when I’m trying to unwind at night. I have set myself a bedtime… That I often don’t adhere to but most of the time I do. 11pm is the latest I will starting now, allow myself to stay up until, especially on work nights. Most of this month I’ve gone to bed at 1030, and after 8 hours I’ve felt so rested and energized to tackle all those lists during the day.

I have also started back on my Isagenix nutrition program and for the last week I’ve noticed a major shift in how I feel physically and emotionally not to mention I’m able to fit into some of my tight stuff again. It’s going to be a battle not indulging in those Doritos but to be honest, I ate some a few days ago and the next day… I did absolutely nothing all day, I spent the entire day grouchy and on the couch neglecting my lists, neglecting my self and most importantly feeling like absolute poo. Not worth it. Not at all.
Every morning I start my day with a chocolate shake that takes me less than a minute to prepare and then I’m good to go. I have to remind myself to eat before I do anything. Your body works it’s best if you eat maximum 30 minutes after waking up. Any longer than that and you’re just setting yourself up for a bad day. It really does make a difference in how productive I am when I make it a priority.

I have made it a goal to train my pup 30 minutes a day, 15 in the morning and 15 in the evening.. It gives us bonding time and makes him a lot more manageable when I pay attention to him. That sounds awful but sometimes you forget and you’ve gone the whole day without giving him snuggles or affection and when you get into bed he avoids you like the plague because you didn’t spend a second with him all day other than taking him outside to pee and filling his food bowls. He is really good, now he sits, lays down, stays, jumps, waits, and tries to warn me he’s gonna pee inside if I don’t take him out right now. He’s gotten so big, I think he’s 40 or 45 lbs at 6 months. Guess we are going to need a bigger house soon.

Anyways, I have achieved what I set out to do today now it’s time to go make dinner and wait for my hubby to come home 🙂

Here’s to the rest of January and an even better February! Have an inspiring day friends and make it count!

Dani XO

20140117-170225.jpg

Leave a comment